Charo Santos, Vince Tanada win top FAMAS acting honors; ‘Catips’ wins 7 awards

Charo Santos and Vince Tanada. Image: Facebook / FAMAS

Charo Santos and Vince Tanada took top acting honors at the 70th Filipino Academy of Movie Arts and Sciences (FAMAS) awards night held yesterday, July 30, while the martial law film “Catips” won seven awards, including a Best Picture award.

Santos won Best Actress for his portrayal in the film “Kun Maupe Man It Panhon”, while Tanada earned a Best Actor award for his role in “Catips”. The winners were announced by the award-giving body through a series of posts on its Facebook page that featured the awardees receiving their FAMAS trophies, also yesterday.

In addition to the Best Picture award, “Catips”, a musical film about student activists during martial law, took home Best Musical Score, Best Cinematography and Best Original Song. It also won the Best Director award for Tanada, who also served as the film’s producer and writer, and the Best Supporting Actor award for Jonrey Rivas.

Meanwhile, national artist Nora Aunor was also given two special awards, namely the Susan Roses Celebrity and Aung Pambansang Algad Ng Singing Award.

Here is the complete list of FAMAS Awards 2022 winners:

Best Actress: Charo Santos-Concio for “Kun Maupe Man It Panhon”

Best Actor: Vince Tanada for “Catips”

Best Picture: “Catips”

Best Director: Vince Tanada for ‘Catips’

Best Supporting Actress: Janice de Bellen for “Big Night”

Best Supporting Actor: Johnny Rivas for “Catips”

Best Screenplay: June Lana for ‘Big Night’

Best Cinematography: Manuel Abanto for ‘Catips’

Best Editing: La Fajardo for ‘A Hard Day’

Best Original Song: “Sa Geeta ng Gulo” by Pipo Sifra and Vince Tanada for “Catips”

Read |  Desmond Llewellyn's James Bond collection sold for 15k | Entertainment News

Best Musical Score: Pipo Sifra for ‘Catips’

Best Sound: Albert Michael Idioma for “A Hard Day”, Alex J. Tombok, Pietro Marco S. Xavier

Best Visual Effects: Santelmo Studios for “My Amanda”

Best Short Film: “See You George!” for Mark Moneda

Lifetime Achievement Awardee: Tessy Agana

FPJ Memorial Awardee: Sen Jinggoe Estrada Jr.

Susan Roses Celebrity Awardee: Nora Auoro

Hall of Fame for Best Actor: Alan Dijon

Hall of Fame for Best Editing: Jess Navarro

Aang Pambansang Alag Sing Singing: Nora Aunor

Don Jose R. Perez Memorial Awardee: Moira Lango

Exemplary Award Winner in Civil Service: Sen. Emi Marcos

First Outstanding Public Service Award: Representative Christopher de Venesia

Second Outstanding Public Service Award: Dr. Adinelle Calvario

German Moreno Youth Achievement Award: Ana Guerrero and Rang Kyle

FAMAS President’s Award: Representative PM Vargas

First Angelo “Alloy” Padua Memorial Award for Journalism: Renz Spangler


Related Stories:

List: Daniel Padilla, Janine Gutierrez, Dingdong Dantes vying for top acting honors at FAMAS

Alessandra de Rossi, Allen Dizon lead the winners of FAMAS 2021; ‘Magicland’ is the best picture

The hottest entertainment news straight to your inbox

Read further

Don’t miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to the Philippine Daily Inquirer and other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to news, download at 4am and share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

Contact us for feedback, complaints or inquiries.

Source link