Inaugural Pasifika Youth Short Film Winner at Bay of Plenty

The regional winners of the first Pasifica Youth Short Film Competition for Bay of Plenty have been announced at a red carpet awards ceremony held in Rotorua on Saturday 30 July.

Thirty Pasifica High School students from across the Gulf participated in the competition, including students from Rotorua Boys High; Rotorua Intermediate; Katao Intermediate; John Paul College; Rotorua Girls High; Rotorua Lakes High; Cuttack College; Mount Maunganui College; and Tauranga Boys College.

The competition was organized by Poporazzi Productions, which specializes in telling Pacific stories through film, with the support of Premier Sponsor The Ministry of Education NZ through the Pacifica Innovation Fund. Category sponsors include the Ministry of the Pacific People; Center for Pacific Languages; Niue FM; Rotorua Pacific Islands Development Charitable Trust; TROW GROUP; Pacific Growth, AT Consultancy and PISA – Pacific Islands Screen Artist.

These films were judged by an all-star line of Pasifika from the screen industry – Stacy Leelua, Jay Taumiti, Stallone Wyoga-Iosa and Nicole Whippy.

11 winners were announced on the night. Esera Tanoi and Tupe Solomon-Tanoi, co-founders, husband and wife team, Poporazzi Productions, say, “We hope that the confidence that our youth has gained will stay with them for a long time. Even if they have received Awards, completing a short film is a significant achievement, and telling your story has its own reward. The real competition is between the film you make this year and the film you make next year.”

1st Best Director Senior – Roman Tukimaka, Cuticati College

Read |  The COVID-19 pandemic is affecting the Saskatchewan arts and entertainment industry

2. Best Director Junior – Polapau Akoula, Rotorua Intermediate

3. Best Actress – Annie Penney, Cuttack College

4. Best Actor – Desmond Maffeo, Rotorua Boys High

5. Best Sound – Lona Tautua, Cuttack College

6. Best Editing – Melina Pelesicotti, Cuttack College

7. Best Documentary – Joseph O’Connor, Mount Maunganui College

8. Best Pasifica Language – Henle Akoula, Rotorua Intermediate

9. Best School – Cuttack College

10. People’s Choice – Desmond Maffeo, Rotorua Boys High

11. Best Film – Joseph O’Connor, Mount Maunganui College

© Scoop Media

Source link